The Parliament Magazine's prestigious annual MEP Awards highlight the exceptional work of MEPs. Now in their 12th year, the awards continue to bring together members of the European Parliament, and the EU Stakeholder community and celebrate the outstanding achievements of our European deputies across a range of policy areas.

The winners will be announced at the awards ceremony on Wednesday 16 March 2016, at the sumptuous surroundings of the Concert Noble in Brussels.

Eva Kaili is candidate for the "Research and Innovation" Award. A crucial area for growth and enterprise, the European Parliament has been strongly involved in helping develop the EU's research and innovation policy. It is an important recognition of her work in the field, and an important sign of where the EU needs to focus. This award recognizes those that play an important part in the EU’s Horizon 2020 framework programme. The other candidates are Mr. Michal Boni for Hans-Olaf Henkel (ECR)